“On January 12, 2009, the Department of State imposed sanctions under various authorities on members of the A.Q. Khan nuclear procurement network including, BSA Tahir, a Sri Lankan national and key middleman involved in the network. This resulted in Tahir’s addition to the Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) List of Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons (SDN List). Tahir was also sanctioned by the State Department under the Nuclear Nonproliferation Prevention Act and the Export-Import Bank Act of 1945. Today, a determination has been made to terminate the measures imposed on Buhary Seyed Abu Tahir.”


84 FR 66051-52
Published 12-02-2019